top of page

A new steed for 2017 and a sponsor announcement

I have an announcement for my 2017 race season. I will be proudly using Parcours carbon fibre wheels for all races. (Well actually just the ones involving a bike, aquathlons take a dim view on the use of carbon fibre arm bands).


I first came across the Parcours Velo brand when they launched at the London triathlon in mid 2016, and I instantly liked the product, so much so I planned to buy a set of wheels even if the owner, Dov Tate, had not picked me to represent his brand. Now you may think sceptically about what I am going to say about the product as I now have a duty to represent in a professional manner, but I am not alone in my excitement about what Parcours are bringing to the UK carbon wheel market, both Road.cc and cyclingweekly.co.uk write favourable reviews on their sites.


I recently purchased a new carbon frame road bike for next year’s races. I intend to race a few more elite style and draft legal age group races and therefore felt the need to upgrade my road bike to match those I will be competing with. I bought a 2014/15 carbon SLS 9.0. Despite the numerous good name suggestions for my bike, I have chosen to go with Javier.

Meet Javier!

My new Parcours carbon wheels arrived the same weekend. Putting the whole package together was time consuming but the finished bike is rapid. I purchased the Parcours Chronos which are 86mm deep and are currently the deepest rim the company make, offering the greatest aerodynamic advantage, providing there is little crosswind. I will use these wheels on both my road and TT bikes, and can't wait to see the times I will be posting, as even in the brief ride I was able to do (due to poor weather) the wheels felt fast and the bike nimble. The wheels felt stable, incredibly well built and very responsive under braking – something I had had issues with on previous carbon wheels.


I like to champion smaller new brands, especially those from the UK attempting to offer something a little different to the market. Parcours has spent time testing their middle of the range wheel, the Passista in the wind tunnel and the results are comparable to those of a top end Zipp wheel, costing twice as much if not more, so why look anywhere else?


I hope to be able to do the amazing wheels justice and to be able to repay the faith the owner Dov has put in me for 2017 and beyond. I want the brand to succeed. People like Dov are a credit to the sport and his passion for delivering a good product shines through. I will be doing everything I can to show his work in a good light in my next season of racing. I am more than happy to talk about the products to anyone, and hopefully will be able to answer any questions you may have.


For a discount try JOAKEY50 at the checkout.


https://www.parcours.cc/


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page